Dad of All Trades, Master of None

Domesticated, Not Demasculinized

  • Are you looking for something?

  • Maybe it will be easier to search by date

A few random thoughts

Posted by doatmon on August 6, 2009

What? You expected all the posts to be funny and well thought-out?  Please.  Lower your expectations.  This ain’t Mssinglemama here.  It’s not even Postcards from Yo Mama.  And that’s saying something.

Been an interesting couple days with Coke partying working up in Put-In-Bay.  It’s weird to have the girls by myself over night and weird to have her come back.  I was prepared for the issues with the kids following this decision, but I wasn’t prepared for issues with ADULTS.  It’s hard being with the kids almost 24/7 and still relating on an adult level.  No offense to my beautiful daughters, but I expected to REALLY need some “daddy time,” (no, not a euphamism).  Instead, I find myself almost running back to them after Coke gets home.  I’ll write more about this another time, but it’s odd and out-of-the-blue for me.

I locked myself and the kids out of the house today.  Great dad, eh?

French Fry added another slang term into the ever-growing dictionary.  She has deemed a certain often loud, often offensive to the olafactories, get ready, snorkling.  Sadly, it’s almost always preceded by “Daddy snorkled.”  Clearly, that’s never the case and the child has a wild imagination.  Do they still do shock therapy?

In case you haven’t read the story, a woman beat a fawn to death with a shovel in her front yard.  And the public outcry is being derided by the NAACP as racism against the woman.  This world is a truly frightening place.

I am feeling an indescribable urge to start fishing.  A lot.

I am feeling an indescribable urge to get in the freaking car and head to the beach.  Thankfully, I am.  Tomorrow.  And you’re not.

It’s weird being in a Starbucks when it’s dark out.  Think about it.

People are making a big deal out of the people-watching at the Ohio State Fair.  It’s true.  But, people, go to the zoo.  It’s like a fair that never ends.

Funnel cakes are the work of Satan or a benevolent God.  Discuss until I get back next week.

Leave a Reply

 
