Dad of All Trades, Master of None

Domesticated, Not Demasculinized

  • Are you looking for something?

  • Maybe it will be easier to search by date

Today’s the Day

Posted by doatmon on July 22, 2009

Deep breath. Yikes.  Brush teeth. Okay, another deep breath.  Much better.

Today is the day.  After months of ulcerating contemplation, weeks of second-guessing, days of rationalization and hours of planning, I am announcing my “retirement” from PR and the birth of full-time daddy status.

How am I feeling?  Um, nervous, excited, overwhelmed, tired, overwhelmed and well, tired.  But one thing I’m not?  Embarrassed.  Or a failure.

The very first person I told of my decision said they were “sorry that my PR business didn’t work out and that they were confident this would be temporary.”

I’m not.

I am ecstatic at this opportunity and as I told some people today, at peace for the first time in a LONG time.  This wasn’t a result of any “failure” of my PR business.  In fact, I walked away from several opportunities.  Quite simply, this was the right thing to do for me and for my family.

I cannot wait to explore why that is so hard for people to believe.  But that’s another blog for another day.

Today, my focus is on the proverbial and cliched first day of the rest of my life.  It’s the last day of day care for my youngest.  And just another day of wall-to-wall media coverage of Michael Jackson death-gate and interviews with “celebrities” like Susan Boyle.

Only one of those three things embarrasses me and do I consider a failure.

Leave a Reply

 
