Dad of All Trades, Master of None

Domesticated, Not Demasculinized

  • Are you looking for something?

  • Maybe it will be easier to search by date

My Announcement

Posted by doatmon on July 22, 2009

If I leave here tomorrow
Would you still remember me?
For I must be travelling on, now,
cause there’s too many places I’ve got to see.

–Skynard

Seriously, can one ever get enough of Free Bird?  God bless those men of Lynyrd Skynard.

I hope this note finds you well.  Isn’t that the way all mass e-mailings are supposed to start?

I wanted to let you know that as of Wednesday, July 22, 2009 I am closing the virtual doors of High Stakes Public Relations to start a series of new careers.  First, we will be taking our two daughters out of daycare and I will be watching them full-time during the day.  Second, I am going to be expanding a fledgling writing career that will include a blog of the aforementioned daddy duties.  And finally, I will be going to school to get my real estate license with which I intend to focus on rural real estate and development.

Far afield from Public Relations and Public Affairs, eh?  I won’t bore you with a long(er) e-mail as most of you have already stopped reading.  Just suffice to say that while I enjoyed all of my projects, all of my clients and all of my co-workers, I do not feel my future lies in PR or in government.  There are so many of you who are so passionate about your work and so driven to succeed and in the last few months, I found myself lacking both qualities.  Not good for an independent practitioner.  Beyond that, without getting too much into syrupy “schmaltz” I spent months looking at what made me truly happy and what threatened the marriage and the family I have worked so hard to foster.

This is not a decision I took lightly, nor one I “had” to make.  It is one I chose to make and one that, for the first time in a long time, brings me peace.

I look forward to my children, words that bring me pride, relationships born of bringing real estate deals to fruition, hours of poker, activism on agricultural issues and lending my time to help craft a more focused, more relevant Republican Party.

Below, please find the “official” release of my impending plans and I look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

doatmon@gmail.com

dadofalltrades.wordpress.com

Twitter: Dadofalltrades

July 22, 2009

COLUMBUS, Ohio — In a surprising announcement, High Stakes Public Relations is closing the virtual doors and its owner (hereforth to be called dadofalltrades) will be focusing on three completely new endeavors.

Dadofalltrades intends to become a full-time stay-at-home dad while vigorously pursuing writing opportunities and a new career in real estate.

“This is really a business decision,” Dadofalltrades said in a written statement.  “I did some research and tried to find a business in worse shape than PR and while it took some time, I am confident Real Estate is that business.”

Reading between the lines of his pithy comments, we believe this actually represents a desire for a change in lifestyle, change in perspective and a change in priorities.

After a public relations and public affairs career that saw him lobbying in well over 10 states while representing clients from Wal-Mart to home safety giant Kidde, dadofalltrades was having trouble selling services for which he had lost his passion and his drive.

“I began feeling like Al Bundy,” dadofalltrades said.  “I believed in my ability to sell the women’s shoes, but the shoes themselves no longer held the appeal they once did and I feared that impacted both my ability to service my clients and my ability to be the father to Bud and Kelly…I mean my daughters.”

Despite this whimsical and moderately fetishistic statement, presumably this decision did not come easily.  It is our hope that it genuinely represents a legitimate transformation and not a receding hairline-induced mid-life crisis.

Dadofalltrades opined, “I know there will be some that will assume all the poker and bourbon finally got the best of me, but this is something I believe will be the best for myself and my family.  I am blessed with a wife infinitely better looking and more talented than myself and I feel privileged to be able to ride her gravy train.”

While adjusting to his new career(s), dadofalltrades will be accepting freelance writing assignments as well as documenting his exploits in a new blog entitled, “Dad of all trades. Master of None.”  It can be reached at dadofalltrades.wordpress.com.

Change in the weather, change in the sea,
Come back baby, you’ll find a change in me.
Everybody, they ought to change sometime,
Because sooner or later we have to go down in that lonesome ground.

–Eric Clapton

-30-

Leave a Reply

 
